time to say goodbye

Going home after this exchange semester feels a little bit like a breakup – not only because of the amount of tears involved. In both cases you are leaving behind a piece of you, a life that might have changed you, and go back to the life you had before. But it will be different, because YOU are different now.

Ok, this sounds more dramatic then I intended it to be, but I think it is kind of true. I’m not sure if I’m the same person than five months ago, I don’t know how much I changed, and I have no idea how I will fit in home again. It feels strange to think that this time next week I won’t be here anymore.

Even though studying in Saint Petersburg had his ups and downs and it was not an entire perfect relationship it hurts a lot to say goodbye. Not only to Russia, and I will miss Russia for sure, but especially to the people.

терять нечего – nothing to lose: a good mindset to step into an exchange semester

I will never get used to this special kind of hurt you experience when you have to say goodbye to friends from other countries. Of course, you will keep in touch, meet again, but this sudden switch from hanging out every day to not seeing each others in months is just cruel.

But I knew what I was getting into when I applied for this exchange, and I’m glad I did it. After all, you shouldn’t focus on what you lose because of a breakup, but be thankful for what you gained in the first place and cherish all the beautiful memories!

Header pic by Anastasiya Milinets

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started