Flying home for Christmas …

… it sounds romantic and nice – which it is of course – but returning home for Christmas also means a lot of stress. Almost every hour of my stay back home was scheduled, as I wanted to spend time with as many friends as possible and not miss all the Christmas gatherings. And, of course, it meant even more stress as it seems like there is an inseparable bond between me and chaos. Chaos doesn’t stick to my desk, it sneaks into my life all the time.

Probably you could make a TV series with two seasons out of my trip back home, that lasted 24 hours instead of 7 and was peppered with drama and action. But, long story short, although I missed my connecting flight to my hometown in Frankfurt, I made it home somehow. Not the day or with the means of transport I planned, but I made it. I spend quality time with friends and family, ate way too much food and lost hours of sleep – and a week of lectures.

In Russia, the 24th of December is a normal working day, the important festive day is New Year’s Eve – Новый Год. This is what comes our idea of Christmas the closest, although Рождество, the Russian Christmas, is celebrated the 7th of January. If I don’t mess it up and lose any flights, I will be back in Russia tomorrow, in time for the Russian festive season.

So, was it stressful and exhausting to go home for less than a week? Yes. Was it worth it? Of course. Am I looking forward to going back to Russia tomorrow? Definitely.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started